Mommyhood

“There is no way to be a perfect mother, and a million ways to be a good one” – Jill Churchill

When Darren and I decided to try for children, we really had no idea how much a child would impact our lives. Nathan is our whole world, our lives revolving around him.

There’s no more ‘just us’, it’s now ‘the three of us’ or ‘family’. We include Nathan is everything we do (almost). For our anniversary this year, we planned a family weekend trip, and made sure it was something we thought Nathan would enjoy as well as mommy & daddy.

In my whole life I’ve never done anything more rewarding as being a mommy. Especially when I get home from and errand and he comes running to me ‘mommy mommy’! Or when he comes up to me to give me a hug or a kiss. Watching him sleep is the  best. I still remember the first time he laughed in his sleep. I love the way he smiles at me, almost like he’s flirting with his momma. Yes, you know the kind of smile I’m talking about! I could go on and on.

There’s also nothing more frustrating that I’ve done either. Like when he’s clingy, or climbing on me while I eat, or when he’s sick and I can’t do much to help him, or getting into things he shouldn’t, or just generally being a pain.

With the frustrations I feel at times, including the ones where I feel I just scarred him for life with something I’ve done that I shouldn’t have, after all, he’s only 2, what right do I have to be expecting him to a perfect little person at this age? I’m not perfect at 34.

There are so many more positive things for me to focus on. Like how smart he is, how he loves to play with his daddy, that he wants mommy when he’s tired or not feeling good. Even the humorous stuff like how clumsy he is, the way he laughs when he’s really tickled at something, how he chases the dog around teasing her with one of her toys.

I love being a mom! Check out these humorous mommy quotes.

"We spend the first twelve months of our children’s lives teaching them to walk and talk and the next twelve telling them to sit down and shut up."Phyllis Diller

“It’s not easy being a mother. If it were easy, fathers would do it.” – The Golden Girls

"Any child can tell you that the sole purpose of a middle name is so he can tell when he’s really in trouble."– Dennis Fakes

Talk To Me :)